Do You Know the Real Reason Why I Meditate?

This weekend was insane because I was trying to write with one hand tied behind my back. Well not literally, but with the same effect. Seriously, I was carrying around so much emotional baggage, not to mention taming my wandering attention,  that it was like squeezing water from a rock.

Does that happen to you? The water would be the ebb and flow of the creative process, and the rock would be me forcing it along.

But then I remembered why I began meditating every day, something I haven’t done for more than a week. Even if you have large blocks of uninterrupted time, like the weekend, productivity goes way down when you don’t reset your brain, like you refresh your computer, before you begin to do any important task. In my case, it was engaging in the writing process—transcribing, developing an outline, writing, editing, and rewriting just to meet some tight deadlines. It sucked all of the joy out of the process.

For me, mental clarity comes from temporarily letting go of my pent-up anger and especially the frustration from not knowing how to avoid hitting the  brick wall, the area of my life that I have no control over.

The thing is if you don’t meditate, then you might not even realize what is breaking your stride or veering you off course toward achieving your goals. Once a sense of calm washes over me, I begin to ask questions. That still, quiet voice inside broadens my perspective and keeps me focused on my path.

People meditate for so many reasons. Meditation used to just consist of planting myself in a quiet spot where I could close my eyes and listen to Kelly Howell—until I discovered group meditative chanting.

After just one class, I was hooked. Tears streamed down my face as I reached over and hugged my instructor for opening my eyes. It was then that I began to realize how much baggage was weighing me down and how empowered I felt after engaging in the process. I could literally feel the energy in the room as I connected synergistically to all the yogis in the prayer circle, who were no longer complete strangers.

I am curious what you have gained from your meditative experience?

behold-your-dreams

If you want to read about dreamers who are discovering  their passion or learn about  dream seekers who are realizing their dreams ,  then visit my Dare to Dream blog and check out Lynda Dell’s latest stories “A Soldier’s Journey to Social Consciousness.”

My hope is to encourage the dreamers to take the risks and learn from the  dream seekers  who are  connecting the dots and want to guide others to discover their purpose and realize their dreams, too. I will be interviewing dream makers like Rick Giandonato who inspire dreamers to exceed their reach. Is that you?

If you are a dreamer or dream seeker, let’s connect on LinkedIn so that I can tell your story. If you are a dream maker and  already have millionaire habits, then I want to share them!

Leave a Reply

